A celebration of excellence, in and out of the classroom

Huge congratulations to all of the students and staff members who were honored for their achievements inside and outside of the classroom at the annual Student Awards Celebration on Friday, April 22.

Bernae DySart and Em Swain are this year’s recipients of the Daniel J. and W.J.K. Snyder Price, awarded to the two top graduating seniors who faculty have judged to have excelled during their four years at Heidelberg in leadership based on character and scholarship. Wednesday Conley was this year’s recipient of the Berghalter Memorial Award, given to a student who best exemplifies the spirit of the Good Samaritan.

Graduating senior McCartney Betz was chosen to give the student remarks at the celebration. She titled her speech Imposters? Sus. It was a nod to Among Us, a game that took off during the pandemic, in which there are “imposters” and other players have to figure out their identities. McCartney covered her experience at Heidelberg, particularly in regard to Imposter Syndrome, describing her remarks as “an inspirational pep talk about relying on others and trusting oneself.” In it, she delivered the now-famous closing line, “Haters gonna hate, potaters gonna potate, I’m just glad we get to graduate!”

Here is a list of this year’s award recipients as presented on Friday:

  • ACS Chemistry Club Underclassman Award – Averi Hunt
  • Alexander and Christina Garver memorial Prize – Kylie Hendrix, first place; Makenna Finnegan, second place
  • Allan King Zartman Prize in Biology – Courtney Temple
  • Arnold “Skip” Oliver Award (political science) – Emma Baughman and Bernae DySart
  • Arthur E. and Helen M. Bean Award (instrumental music) – Kortland C. Andrews
  • Berg Bravo! Prize (School of Music & Theatre) – Zachary M. Abraham and Ashtyn R. Wolph
  • Berg Falcon Master of Accountancy Scholarship – Kaitlyn Ferrario
  • Charles M. Legally Prize in Speech – Kelsey Stanfield
  • Clyde Lamb—Ohio Athletic Conference Award in Athletics – Sarah Oney and Dylan Woods
  • Curtis A. Helman Memorial Award for Outstanding Graduating Senior in Criminology – Alessandra A. Piazza
  • Dr. A. G. McQuate Award in Field Biology – Zac Belko and Kelly Spence
  • Dr. Andrew J ’81 and Anne Hering Gase Medical School Award – Caleb Gerber
  • Dr. Rose Moore Education Award – Samantha M. Blake
  • Dr. John W. Groce Prize in Chemistry – Anamya Truex
  • Edward Lamb Foundation Prize (business and economics) – Delaney Gill
  • E.I.F. Williams Memorial Prize in Elementary & Secondary Education: Chelsey T. Higgins and Anna M. Zeller (elementary education) and Riley T. Bartels and Sophia K. Jackson (secondary education)
  • E. J. Shives Prize in Chemistry – Kayla Buck
  • Elizabeth Conrad Zartman Prize in Philosophy – Chayenne Powers
  • Emerging Leader Award – Isaiah Young and Kelsey Stanfield
  • Ernest & Martha Hammel Research Awards – Emma Baughman and Kayla Mullinax (tie for first) and Kathleen Brady (third)
  • Ferris and Dorothy Ohl Prize (musical performance) – Seth Eisenhower
  • F.J. Brand Prize in Physics – Nicholas Hausman
  • Frederick D. Lemke Award in English – Sarah Zapola
  • G.A. Stinchcomb Prize in Natural Science or Mathematics – Brynlee S. Vermillion
  • H. Dana Hopkins Award (communication, media, theatre) – McCartney Betz
  • Helmut Fischer Prize in German-American Studies – Kirsten Kracht
  • Herman E. Sayger Award (male, female athlete) – Seth Hohman, Maddie Szawranskyj
  • Ira and Robert Wilson Memorial Prize (biology/grad school) – Ryan Newman, Chayce Schaub
  • Jane Frost Kalnow Memorial Fund Career in Accounting Award – Guy Tibbels
  • Jane Frost Kalnow Memorial Fund Career in Industry Award – Lillian Whitcomb
  • John Allen Krout Prize in American History – James Williams
  • John C. Shinn Memorial Award (history, political science, economics) – Isabel Chasney, Gavin Robison, Noah Paris
  • John I. Kolehmainen Scholarship (political science) – Tristin Buurma, Siera Octaviano
  • J. Robert Allman Award in Theatre Arts – Riley Gibson
  • Leanne O. Wolff Award in Communication – Lily A. Roth
  • Lenore Osterholm Prize in Spanish – Victoria Bunevich and Lillian Whitcomb
  • Lewis E. Miller International Ambassador Award – Spencer Tredwell
  • Liston Award (water quality, environmental studies) – David Harbaugh
  • Martin A. Reno Emerging Scholar Prize in Computer Science – Alex F. McRandal
  • Martin A. Reno Senior Scholar Prize in Computer Science – William R. Bohlen
  • Martin Walker Smith Prize in History: Best Paper – Haley Martin
  • Martin Walker Smith Prize in History: Highest GPA – Bernae DySart
  • Nancy Rhodes Shanklin ’66 Endowment for International Study – Hayley Kumel
  • Outstanding Freshman in Criminology – MaKenzie L. Brooks
  • Outstanding First-Year Student in Psychology Award – Taylor S. Ratliff
  • Outstanding senior Employee of the Year – Emma Wright
  • Pancoast Family Scholarship of the Tiffin Community Foundation (natural sciences) – Melanie Cohn, Kristina Confesor and Madison Flory
  • Paul H. Hoernemann Prize in Athletics – Jace Grossman and Kathleen Brady
  • Paul H. Hoernemann Memorial Prize for Voice – Rebecca A. Eppard
  • Prugh Prize in Athletics – Isaiah Flood and Bailey Walter
  • Psi Chi Outstanding Senior Award (psychology) – Brooke Franz
  • Ralph & Sue Quellhorst Community Service and Civic Engagement Award – Em Swain
  • Robert E. Oleson Outstanding Student Leader Award – Lauren Mussig
  • Student Leader for Diversity – Jasmine Ridler
  • Student Organization Advisor of the Year – Julie Arnold
  • Student Organization of the Year – Excelsior Men’s Society
  • Wickham Prize in Business – Sarah Shoots
  • William F. Steele Prize in Mathematics – Jacob Logsdon
  • William Henry and Harriet Jane Gibson Prize (Concert Choir) – Nycholas E. Martinez

Latest News & Announcements


The Baccalaureate service on Saturday, May 14, and Commencement on Sunday, May 15, will have Clos

Bergopoly Alumni Weekend 2022 is coming soon, and everyone is invited to take the Reading Railroa

Current high school students who will graduate between 2022 a

The Mail Room received a package on Thursday, April 28, with no name on it.

The Heidelberg University School of Music & Theatre is again offering a summer camp for stude

Reminder to all that the Primary Election is this Tuesday, May 3.