Tri-Alpha Honor Society inducts first members

Heidelberg inducted the first members of our newest national honors society Tri-Alpha, which recognizes and celebrates the academic achievements of first-generation college students.
tri-alpha ceremony

Heidelberg hosted the inaugural induction ceremony Wednesday for the Tri-Alpha National Honors Society. This new honor society recognizes and celebrates the academic achievements of first-generation college students.

The ceremony represents over a year of work for advisor Barry Devine, assistant professor of English and first-generation student himself.

“I’m really excited it’s finally happening,” he said. “I’m happy to be able to welcome everyone the way they should be into this honor society.”

Heidelberg’s chapter of Alpha Alpha Alpha was officially established in March, but with campus closed due to COVID-19, the ceremony had to be postponed until this fall. Last night’s virtual ceremony included graduated students from the class of 2020, current students, and faculty and staff members. Elected officers were Shaadia Flint (president), Jonathan “Rocky” Hurst (vice president), Hailey Taylor (treasurer), Gabrielle “Bella” Ballard (secretary), and Chelsea Higgins (historian).

Heidelberg has always championed providing a high-quality education for students of all backgrounds and has a significant number of first-generation college students – a fact that many current students might not be aware of.

“The greatest benefit of having this organization on campus is to highlight the fact that these students are not alone,” Barry said. “This will not only help Tri-Alpha members, but all first-generation students on campus.”

To qualify for Tri-Alpha students must have earned at least 36 credit hours, have achieved an overall GPA of at least 3.2, and neither of their parents, step-parents, or legal guardians have completed a bachelor's degree.

Tri-Alpha Inductees

Class of 2020

Madalyn Branham

Anna Chalkley

Jenna Carman

Leah Cordy

Kaitlynn Esquibel

Ellen Gonzalez Jacquez

Ethan Miller

Morgan Miller

Casey Moore

Chase Morrison

Kaitlyn Payne

Hannah Petitti

Judy Smith

Haley Wulff

Faculty & Staff

Chris Abrams

Thomas Alexander

Julie Arnold

Joshua Bowman

Barry Devine

Shaun Gunnell

Ashley Helmstetter

Dawn Henry

James Hill

Lauren McGraw

Melissa Nye

Margaret Rudolph

Neil Sass

Mary Shaffer

John Sharp

Traci Sittason Stark

Bryan Smith

Kylee Spencer

Cheryl Staib-Lewis

Jena Suffel

Elizabeth Tracy

Monica Verhoff

Current Students

Jessalyn Adkins

Paige Allen-Marsh

Gabrielle Ballard

Madison Benavides

McCartney Betz

Cassey Bolyard

Devyn Carder

Michelle Chen

Bailee Coss

Jessika Cotsmire

Tyler Craig

Ashley Dawson

David Drushal

Chantel Ely

Shaadia Flint

Brooke Franz

Fletcher Grey

Chelsea Higgins

Tiffany Holycross

Jonathan Hurst

Julia Jacobs

Aurora Kinney

Alysha Klotz

Alicia Lawrence

Vanessa Macias

Jessica Martini

Kristen Means

Haley Miller

Micah Mydloski

Ashley Plank

Chayenne Powers

Nashley Robinson

Justin See

Sydney Shaffer

Ryan Shock

Savannah Sutherland

Hailey Taylor

Heather Ule

Chadwick Walkins

Alyssa Wells

Taylor Whitright

Dylan Work

Brooke Workman

Latest News & Announcements


Testing will be mandatory for faculty and staff, voluntary for students, who are still encouraged to participate.
Announcing intramural ping pong open for sign-ups.
If you would like to participate in the quiz about the people spotlighted in the Poster Board Displays around campus, please scan the QR code at the bottom of the posters.
As part of today's theme, "Heidelberg Allyship & Moving Heidelberg into Action," all day Friday the campus community will use various social media platforms and write to senators, etc. to advocate for an issue of their choice which deals with poverty, healthcare, and King’s vision of beloved community.
The next deadline for grants from the Pepsi Fund and the Martha and Ernest Hammel Student Research Fund to support student research and/or travel to professional conferences is February 1, 2021. Applications should be submitted by 11:59 PM.