Academic Affairs
Academic Affairs

Faculty Committees

Undergraduate Curriculum Committee


Four undergraduate faculty members, at least one of whom is tenured, one or two elected each year for terms of three years; and one undergraduate student appointed by the Student Senate for a term of one year. The Registrar is an ex officio, non-voting member of this committee.


The Undergraduate Curriculum Committee (UCC) shall study and make recommendations to the General Faculty concerning matters of the undergraduate curriculum including, but not limited to

  • the undergraduate general education curriculum, majors, minors, internships, externships, clerkships, practicums, service learning, and other academic programs; and
  • any educational endeavors which will have a long- or short-range impact on undergraduate academic programs.


Community Engagement Committee

The Community Engagement Committee studies and makes recommendations to the Faculty concerning resources and programs which contribute to the overall growth and development of the students including

  • promoting volunteerism and citizenship among Heidelberg students in coordination with the Service Learning Coordinator of the Honors Program;
  • planning and promoting events on campus that further the academic mission of the University;
  • planning and coordinating educational programs with Tiffin-area organizations including Tiffin University, Tiffin Public Schools, Tiffin Catholic Schools, Ritz Theater, Tiffin-Seneca Public Library; and
  • studying and evaluating Heidelberg University with respect to Criterion Five (Engagement and Service) of the Criteria for Accreditation of the Higher Learning Commission, North Central Association of Colleges and Schools.

Application for Funding

Funding may be requested by Heidelberg academic departments and other officially recognized campus entities/organizations by completing the Application for Funding form. Applications must be submitted at least one week prior to the event for which funding is being requested. Please note that funding applications are processed on a first-come, first-serve basis and that the maximum per-event amount to be awarded will be determined upon review of the application. The CEC will give priority consideration to funding requests for events/programs that most closely align with the committee’s objectives, as noted above. In the event funding is granted, the post-event assessment is required to be submitted no later than seven days after the event.

Past funded CEC events

  • Drowsy Lads (multicultural Irish music)
  • Student Research Conference keynote speaker
  • Eighth Blackbird (New Music Festival 2012)
  • Alternative SPring Break 2011 (NOLA and NYC)
  • Blood Done Sign My Name (Theatre 2011)
  • Phil Jones Jazz Trombone Guest Clinic (Fall 2011)

Description from Faculty Manual

Contact Information

University Hall


Mon - Fri: 8:00am - 5:00pm

Our Team

Courtney DeMayo Pugno
Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs|Executive Director of the Owen Center for Teaching and Learning|Associate Professor of History
Campus Center 316
(419) 448-2510
Courtney DeMayo Pugno
Emily Isaacson
Director of Honors Program|Associate Professor English
Pfleiderer Hall 306
(419) 448-2184
Emily I
Jordan Kaufman
Director of Academic Assessment & Effectiveness
Bareis Hall 326
(419) 448-2601
Jordan Kaufman
April Ramsey
Executive Assistant to the President, Provost, and The Board of Trustees
University Hall C122
(419) 448-2202
April Russell Headshot
Bryan Smith
Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost
University Hall C122
(419) 448-2045
Bryan Smith